National History Day Award

AARCH Presents National History Day Award – November 24, 2020

Due to the pandemic, the AARCH-NHD Award from last spring’s competition was presented November 13, 2020.  West Frederick Middle School 8th graders, Ella Joseph and Lucy Slagle won the award in March for their website on “Debbie Thompson Brown: Breaking Barriers in History.”  Frederick County athlete Debbie Thompson competed in the Tokyo Olympics in 1964 and was Maryland’s first female Olympic track competitor.  Pictured from left to right: Sarah Heald, AARCH Education Committee; Heather Kehr, Advanced Academic Specialist WFMS; Award winners Ella Joseph and Lucy Slagle; Margaret Gilgallon-Joyce, WFMS Principal; and Rose Chaney, AARCH Board of Directors.  AARCH gave the students Joy Hall Onley’s book about Frederick’s Black high school, Dear O’ Faithful Lincoln.